Minors 14 and 15 years of age may work:
1. 3 hours a day while school is in session; 8 hours a day on non-school days.
2. 40 hours in a non-school week; 18 hours in a school week.
3. Not before 7:00 a.m., only after school and only until 7:00 p.m., while school is in session.
4. From 7:00 a.m. until 9:00 p.m. during school summer vacation (June 1 - Labor Day).
Restricted Occupations for Minors
Under Michigan and Federal child labor laws, many occupational job duties are restricted to a certain age, or prohibited
under age 18. Employers subject to coverage by both state and federal laws must comply with the more stringent
provisions of the two laws. Minors under the age of 18 years are prohibited from working in a hazardous or injurious
occupation. Hazardous work includes, but is not limited to:
• Motor Vehicle Driving (on public roads and waterways)
• Power-Driven Woodworking Machines
• Exposure to Hazardous Substances, Chemicals, Explosives or Radioactive Substances
• Power-Driven Hoisting Apparatus, including lift truck, forklift, bobcat, etc.
• Power-Driven Metal-Forming, Punching, and Shearing Machines
• Power-Driven Bakery Machines
• Power-Driven Paper-Products Machines
• Power-Driven Circular Saws, Band Saws, and Guillotine Shears
• Roofing Operations
• Excavation Operations
• Construction Work, including painting
• Logging and Sawmill Operations
• Mining Operations
• Slaughtering, Meat Packing, Rendering, and Tanning Operations
A minor shall not be employed unless the employer or an employee who is 18 years of age or older provides supervision.
This is a requirement of both Michigan's Youth Employment Standards Act and the Health and Safety (MIOSHA)
When are Work Permits not required?
Work permits are not required for minors engaged in the following types of employment:
• Private homes doing occasional odd jobs
• Sale or delivery of newspapers, if self employed
• Employed by a business owned and operated by the parent or guardian of a minor
• Minors 14 years of age or older employed by a school, academy, or college in which the minor is enrolled
• Services performed as part of a recognized youth oriented organization (e.g. 4-H, Boy Scouts, Girl Scouts)
• Farm work which involves raising of livestock or production of crops
• Minors 13 years of age or older employed as corn detasslers
• An emancipated minor*
• Minors ages 16-17 who have completed high school graduation requirements*
• 17 year old minor who has passed the GED test*
• Employment of a student minor 14 years of age or older under a contract between employer and school board*
*employer, before minor begins work, shall obtain and keep on file proof of each condition
Revocation of Work Permit
A work permit may be revoked by the school if poor school attendance results in a level of school work lower than that
prior to beginning employment. A work permit shall be revoked by the school if the Wage & Hour Division of the
Michigan Department of Energy, Labor & Economic Growth informs the school of an employer's violation of state or
federal laws or rules.
Any minor who has a work permit revoked by the school shall be informed of an appeal process by the school.
Page 4 of 4
• Michigan’s Minimum Hourly Wage Rate: $7.40 per hour effective 7/1/2008.
• Youths 16-19 may be paid a training wage of $4.25 per hour for their first 90 days of employment.
• Minors 16-17 years of age may be paid 85?f the Michigan minimum hourly wage rate, those rates are as
follows; $6.29 per hour effective 7/1/2008; after 7/24/2008, these minors must be paid at least the federal
minimum wage rate of $6.55 per hour effective 7/24/2008 and $7.25 per hour effective 7/24/2009.
• Minors under 16 years of age may be required to be paid the federal minimum wage.
The issuance of a work permit does not authorize employment of minors contrary to state or federal laws and regulations.
Anyone who employs a minor without a work permit, or who violates Michigan's Youth Employment Standards Act or a
rule promulgated under the Act, or obstructs the department in the enforcement of the Act is guilty of a misdemeanor
punishable by imprisonment for not more than 1 year, or a fine of not more than $500.00, or both.
Anyone who employs a minor in an occupation that involves a cash transaction after sunset or 8:00 p.m., whichever is
earlier, at a fixed location unless an employer or other employee 18 years of age is present at the fixed location during
those hours, is guilty of a misdemeanor punishable by imprisonment for not more than 1 year, or a fine of $2,000.00, or
both. Second and third subsequent violations may lead to a $10,000.00 fine and 10 years imprisonment.
Answered By: John - 6/18/2009